RSS Feed

A magic carpet ride in 2015 for one CDI lady

Reflecting on 2015, I feel like it was the most wonderful year ever for Allison. Here is a recap of my significant milestones and some high points.

 

  •      Attending First Event was an unbelievable start to my year. Events were great and I had a wonderful roommate! However, through several seminars, I was hammered by the realization that I needed to reveal Allison to family, friends and colleagues. My commitment to do so would make 2015 my coming out of the closet year.
  • Soon after that, my wife of 4 decades read ”She’s not There”, viewed Bruce Jenner’s interview, and processed things with me and my therapist.  Over the next few months, she finally understood my dysphoria and agreed to let me express Allison openly when we both retired. So over the next 6 months I prepared for my new life.
  • I became a regular attendee at CDI-CrossGender Community which gave me a place to belong, a community of non-judgemental friends, and yes, a place to serve.
  • In June, I was thrilled to be a bridesmaid at my longtime friends Betty and Mischa’s wedding.
  • And that summer, many wonderful days sailing on T Time with transgender friends and others
  • My wife and I retired on September 2nd and I had a wonderful coming out party at CDI.  I could dress at home before going out, found that my life-long struggle with toxic shame evaporated and felt so free to be me.
  • Over the next 3 months, I came out to my children, my church pastor and Elder Board, former colleagues and lifelong friends.  While not all embraced my transgendered self, I did clarify misconceptions and felt relieved that I was no longer hiding my identity.
  • Along the way, I discovered SAGE, an LGBT senior center in midtown where I took dancing and acting lessons and made new friends.
  • That led to a solo lip-synch performance of “Dance 10 Looks 3” (better known as “Tits and Ass”) from the Broadway show Chorus Line.  The venue was benefit variety show at a small theater in the Village. I got lots of encouraging feedback about my costume and performance.
  • In November, I was elected president of CDI, affirming a role I had played for several months.  We have enriched CDI’s programming with Trans themed Movie Nights, Dinners out, speakers and mini-lessons.and facility upgrades like a professional photography studio setup for photos.
  • And all year long my body slowly feminized and by December, I was thrilled to finally be filling a 36B bra. What a rush it is to have cleavage.

The journey continues for me and I count it a privilege to have friends like you to travel with me.

Allison

About cdinyc2012

Crossdressers International Incorporated is a member-supported adult transgendered group focused on support and social activities, serving the New York City metropolitan area. CDI is qualified as a non-profit corporation under section 501(c) 7 of the federal tax code. In the beginning, as stated in “Our History”, our founders envisioned CDI to be an all inclusive, welcoming haven for those seeking to come to terms with their transgendered nature. While the majority of our members and friends identify as cross dressers, we have served as a refuge for those who identify as transsexual, drag queen, and gender queer as well. Historically, our focus has been on the m-f crossdresser/transgendered. However, we do welcome those who identify from the f-m experience. While many of our members are long time comfortable with their transgender identity, we have never lost sight that our basic mission is to stand ready to provide a welcoming sanctuary for those who are taking their very first steps of self discovery. We know from our own experience that this can be a frightening time for those who have been closeted. The fear of loss of family, friends, employment, and standing in ones community can be overwhelming. And all for merely being gender different. Even today in our changing times the fear of discovery, ridicule, and worse can be terrifying for those who are attempting to safely practice their gender expression. WE are here for you. We make no claims of being “expert” in any matters, yet through our individual and collective experience we are highly knowledgeable. CDI also serves as a resource center where we can direct you to qualified professionals should that be desired. In short, we believe that groups like ours help to save lives. Sometimes just a welcoming smile and spoken kindness can be enough to assure someone (and maybe that’s you!) that they are not alone. For whatever reason each of us were dealt this hand from birth. For years many of us have considered it a curse. At CDI we believe that once liberated from the isolation of the closet that in time you will come to see your own transgenderism as a “gift”. So whether experienced or not, come - We welcome you, and we exist for you!

Leave a Reply

